My Wim Hof notes

I start’d looking into the Wim Hof Method after seeing this video on it by What I Learned. I haven’t publish’d any of my own new work in a while since it’s all projects that take a long time, so I figured I’d publish my notes on it.

If you don’t feel like watching the video, the breathing technique gives you a massive adrenaline shot by simulating a near death experience, but in the process it trains your chemistry to deal with large environmental changes, modifies your immune system, changes how you deal with inflammation, and can give a burst of concentration. Similar benefits to fasting specifically short term or intermittent fasting or how High Intensity Interval Training conditions your body to better deal with free radicals.

  1. breathing for blood doping
    • 100% in then 50-75% out
    • find a rhythm
    • maintain concentration
    • 30-40 cycles to dope the blood
    • last breath 100% in then 100% out
    • Hold on empty for 1m
    • Inhale and hold for 10 sec
    • repeat full cycle twice more, for 3x total
  2. focus
    • challenge yourself
    • your boundaries are malleable
    • things are easier further back from the edge, push the edge up
  3. cold therapy
    • after working on breathing, focus, meditation
    • trains your circulation to be more effective
    • cold-ish shower after normal
    • accept and pass through, do not resist
    • lower temperature across different sessions
    • after 10 days, skin is train’d
    • recovery from coldshock improves
    • circulation tunes to when to warm you
  4. individual limits
    • “the edge” of endurance is meaningless, your edge is what matters
    • start from where you are and work on that

Author: TheVeryMask

or just Mask

One thought on “My Wim Hof notes”

Leave a comment